Thursday, 2 April 2020
More bushfire recovery help for Canungra-Beechmont small business

Small business which suffered loss of trade or other hardship due to the Canungra-Sarabah-Beechmont bushfires in September 2019 can now access low interest Disaster Assistance Loans of up to $500,000 to support their recovery.

But small business in the Fassifern remain  ineligible for any form of bushfire assistance.

This afternoon, the Federal Minister for Natural Disaster and Emergency Management David Littleproud announced the extension of the low interest loans to small business in parts of Queensland regions that the State Government has made eligible for Category B assistance.

“Businesses in these areas are reporting loss of trade, as well as impacts from loss of power in the aftermath of the fires,” Minister Littleproud said.

“This DRFA assistance is about giving hard-working Australians a leg-up during the tough times so they can get back to business sooner.”

Queensland Minister for Employment and Small Business Shannon Fentiman said the assistance measures were in addition to the DRFA funding already available for small businesses in the Scenic Rim [Southern Qld Bushfires Sept 6-12] and Southern Downs.

“Making sure our small businesses can get back up on their feet as soon as possible is vital for so many of our communities,” Ms Fentiman said.

“The announcement has expanded the support already available to a further seven local government areas and doubles the maximum available loan amount from $250,000 to $500,000 for all activated regions.

“It is aimed at ensuring small businesses can keep their doors open and operations up and running,” she said.

“We hope this goes some way in assisting those impacted to get back on track and look towards the future.”

The DRFA low interest loans are available for eligible small businesses which suffered the impact of:

• Southern Queensland Bushfires, September 6-12, 2019

  - Scenic Rim

  - Southern Downs

  - Noosa

  - Sunshine Coast

• Eastern Queensland Bushfires, October 7 – December 19, 2019

  - Bundaberg

  - Gladstone

  - Livingstone

  - Noosa

  - Somerset

  - Toowoomba