Wednesday, 27 May 2020
Premier announces the closure of Scenic Rim National Parks

All of Mt Barney, Moogerah Peaks national parks will close to visitors at midnight on Thursday (April 9). There will also be partial closures of Tamborine Mountain and Springbrook national parks.

Environment Minister Leeanne Enoch made the announcement at the start of the Easter break saying that it was necessary to ensure social distancing.“Queenslanders must remember that visiting a National Park for exercise should only happen if you live near it and that travelling long distances to go to a National Park is simply not permitted,” Minister Enoch said. 

“These further closures are necessary given places such as Queen Mary Falls at Main Range, Tallanbana trail head at Springbrook and Witches Falls at Tamborine National Park are still attracting high numbers of visitors.  

"Increased signage will be in place to inform the public of these latest closures, but locals should check Park Alerts online for the most up-to-date information about closures.

Mt Barney National Park takes in Mount Barney, Mount Maroon, Mount May, Mount Lindesay, Mount Ernest, Mount Ballow and Mount Clunie national parks. All summit tracks, day use areas, camping areas and walking tracks will be closed.

Moogerah Peaks National Park takes in Mount French, Mount Edwards, Mount Moon and Mount Greville national parks. All camping areas, day use areas, walking tracks and rock climbing sites in these national parks will be closed.

Facilities and areas closed in Tamborine National Park include all barbecue areas, the Cedar Creek day use area and carpark, Cedar Creek Falls and lookout, the Cedar Creek rock pools and the Witches Falls section.

Facilities and areas closed in the Springbrook National Park includes all barbecue areas, Gwongorella picnic area, carpark and toilets; Purling Brook Falls circuit; Warringa Pool walking track; Springbrook Information Centre; Natural Bridge circuit, cave and toilets; Gold Coast Hinterland Great Walk from Apple Tree Park to The Settlement, and Tallanbana trailhead and Twin Falls and Warrie circuit.