Thursday, 1 October 2020
Council divisions 2,3,4 and 5 declared, Mayor still unknown

Winners in Scenic Rim Council Divisions 2,3,4 and 5 have been declared by the Queensland Electoral Commission.

Marshall Chalk won Division 5, the division encompassing the southern part of the Fassifern from Boonah to Rathdowney.

Chalk pulled ahead of the three other contenders and secured a convincing 51.59 percent of the vote.

Julie de Visser came second, Caz Osborne third and Samantha Caves fourth in the Division where just over 85 percent of the vote has been counted.

Michael Enright became the first person to hold Beaudesert’s Division 4 for two consecutive terms.

With 77.77 percent of the vote counted, Enright raked in 53.5 percent, beating Jennifer Sanders for a second time.

Virginia West continues her unabated hold on Division 3 which covers areas such as Beechmont, Canungra and Running Creek.

West won against Janine Healy with 55.13 percent of the vote, which had just passed 75 percent of the total ballots counted.

And Jeff McConnell won Division 2 which takes in localities such as Tamborine Village, Gleneagle and Birnam.

He has the largest lead so far with 57.68 percent of the vote with just more than 75 percent of the vote counted.

Division 1 and the race for Mayoralty have yet to be declared, but Derek Swanborough still leads in Division 1 with 31.73 percent of the vote.

But with three other contenders holding more than 20 percent of the vote each, preferences could play a big part in who represents Division 1.

As for the Mayoral race, little has changed over the past week with Greg Christensen still leading the pack.

Greg Christensen - 6269 - 32.61%

John Brent - 5145 - 26.76%

Tom Sharp - 4748 - 24.70%

Virginia Price - 1794 - 9.33%

Christopher Summers - 1269 - 6.6%