Saturday, 15 August 2020
Fassifern hosts successful State titles

Story by JAN DOVER


Beautiful playing conditions were presented to the seven teams that took to the fields at Coronation Park for the 2020 Queensland Senior Vigoro Titles. 

While only a month ago the Coronation Park fields were dust and prickles, mother-nature provided some well needed rain in perfect time for Murray Schneider to work his magic and have the fields in tip top shape in time for the games which ran from Friday to Sunday.

Fassifern, Ipswich, Cairns and Townsville Vigoro Associations all took part in the Championships that saw teams battle through the rounds of games to eventually bring Ipswich and Fassifern Associations to the Grand Final in the Veteran Division and Townsville and Ipswich in the Senior Division.

Once again Ipswich Association proved its might and in their 90th Anniversary celebration year, took out both finals to be the State Champions in 2020. 

Ipswich Vigoro have certainly set the standard for the State. 

The Fassifern Veteran team was outstanding on the first day of play with outright wins against their Ipswich and Cairns opponents. While the final result was not in the plan, in customary determination the Fassi Vetties now set themselves a goal to be better for longer at the next Titles.

The young Fassifern Senior side were competitive and showed grit to put up some great performances against more experienced sides. Playing six games over the weekend and gaining more and more experience over time, the team’s prospects look bright for the future. 

Fassifern players featured in the Queensland Honorary Teams that were announced at the close of play. 

Congratulations to Vanessa Lane and Laurenn Neuendorf who were chosen in the Senior Queensland team. Six Fassifern Veterans were named in the Queensland Honorary Team. Congratulations to Jan Dover (Captain), Rosie Dwyer, Susan Parker, Seren McKenzie, Maryann Watterson and Janet Wilson (Wicket keeper).

A wonderful evening of fine food and friendship was held at the Fassifern Sports Club on Saturday night as all Associations’ players and supporters gathered for the Queensland Vigoro Association presentation of trophies. 

Fassifern individual award winners were Jan Dover - highest individual score (56), batting aggregate (109) and batting average (21.8), Seren McKenzie - bowling aggregate (18 wickets) and most wickets for least runs 5 for 6, Janet Wilson - Wicket Keeper’s dismissals (6) for Veterans and Krissie Sorensen – Wicket Keeper’s dismissals for Seniors.

Our Fassifern contingent of umpires greatly contributed to the smooth running of the Titles - to Kerryn Parker, Kathy Neuendorf, Darren Wright, Sharon Reick, Sharon Schneider and Kelly Wright. 

Well done Fassifern Ladies Vigoro Association on a very well run and enjoyable State Titles. We are indeed fortunate to have so many hard working and willing volunteers to work together to make things happen. Thank you to the wider vigoro community and supporters for all the assistance given particularly in the setting up of fields and shade areas. The Titles organising Committee did an outstanding job in bringing this all together. Bouquets to Susan Parker, Kerryn Parker, Krissie Sorensen, Janet Wilson, Kelly Wright, Kelli Rabbitt and Jan Dover.