Thursday, 2 April 2020
Scenic Rim election at the starters gate

At midday today, the Queensland Local Government election process will begin with the publishing of the Notice of Election by the Electoral Commission.

At that point, the Scenic Rim Regional Council will go into caretaker mode, which will limit decision making powers. However, the Mayor and Councillors will remain in their roles until the outcome of the election is officially declared after the Saturday, March 28 election.

The timetable for the election process is:

  • Friday, February 28 - Voters have until close of business on that day to change their enrolment details or to enrol to vote.
  • Tuesday, March 3 - Candidates for the role of mayor or for one of the divisional councillor positions have until 12 noon  to nominate.
  • Wednesday, March 4 - Names of candidates will be drawn ‘out of the hat’ to determine the order their names will appear on the ballot paper.
  • Thursday, March 5 - Postal voting begins
  • Monday, March 16 - Pre-polling begins with one polling booth expected to open in Boonah, Beaudesert and Tamborine Mt (yet to be confirmed).
  • Saturday, March 28 - Election Day polling booths will open from 8.00am too 6.00pm.

Currently in the Scenic Rim, four people have announced their intention to stand for Mayor - John Brent, Greg Christensen, Tom Sharp and Chris Summers.

Those who have announced plans to stand for Divisional seats:

Division 1 - Amanda Hay, Nadia O’Carroll and Sally Williams.

Division 2 - Jeff McConnell and Keer Moriarty.

Division 3 - Virginia West.

Division 4 - Michael Enright and Jennifer Sanders.

Division 5 - Marshall Chalk, Julie De Visser and Caz Osborne.

Division 6 - Duncan McInnes.

Read more about the candidates here.